Posted by: Teeif | 20 January, 2008

Spice and Wolf 2; naked wolf-girls could save the planet

‘Nature is not something someone could create. I’ve been wondering when the church started using me… I guess everything is changing to reflect the era.’ – Horo at 15:57. (BSS Fansubs)

Spice and Wolf 2 – wolf and distant past

horo in jedi cloakspice and wolf horo and tail

Okami to Koshinryo is set in a fantasy Feudal Europe and, after reading the chippings from the rumour mill, I find out that this anime has an economics theme. My inner daemon smiles. I’m half decent at economics and know a little about English history too. Now I can extract, compound and criticise every little mistake the director makes. But I won’t. I think this wound be unrepresentative of the anime; Horo is naked again, and it’s distracting.

Whatever you think of the naked scenes, this anime proves itself to be good entertainment. Personally I, having indulged in all manner of perversion from yuri to nice boat, am ambivalent. It could be considered arty or fanservice; I don’t really care. But I do detest the people making a fuss about it like a 12-year-old who just discovered 4-chan. However, if Horo insists on making like a painter and stripping every episode, I think it’ll detract from the setting. Plus I’ll soon be reduced to making jokes about doggie-style and bestiality.

Although I fear the best ideas will be lost in the book-to-anime transition, there have been some thoughtful musings from our favourite wise wolf. She said,

‘Nature is not something someone could create. I’ve been wondering when the church started using me… I guess everything is changing to reflect the era.’ – Horo at 15:57.

Unfortunately, the director uses Lawrence to shut Horo up before she says something controversial. In the land that brought us Higurashi, Yuri Lolis and NiceBoat, blunt comments on religion should part of everyday’s work. Of course, being Japanese and thus having a knack for hypocrisy, it’d never be about Shintoism but Christianity is fine.

Horo has a good point. Ever since irrigation, Man has exploited nature for his own needs. No matter how we mould and shaped the discourse or change the ruling elite. We still need nature but disrespect it’s delicate balance. Everyone’s a pagan now, we have enough environmentalism and carbon emissions lore drilled into our heads, to have knee jerk positive reactions to anything green. Even Mold. Is that good for the environment? No. We buy apples from New Zealand and replace all our cars/appliances/electronics with new energy efficient models. That may sound healthy and green, except food production, including miles account for 25% of carbon emissions and that plane full of M&S Pink Ladies just polluted more than you’ll ever save from switching off standby, and to make up the carbon used to make and ship my new efficient fridge, it’d have to last somewhere around 100 years.

While I agree with reductions in carbon emissions, I think you have to be very sceptical and careful in making decisions so that your footprint goes down, not up. Unfortunately, when it comes to shopping, that’s exactly what most people are useless at!

Maybe nature just needs sexing up. Next time you open your purse and hand over a wad of cash for your 4th PS2, please think of Horo under her cute little cloak, buy a tree instead. It’ll probably last longer!

Responses

  1. >.> it’s a sad day when we start taking our advice from cartoon wolf girls…….

  2. Well, it’s fine la. I can see why guys are guys. If it weren’t for the girls, guys won’t change and they’ll always be that way. Until they fall in love they’ll never change. That’s what I’ve seen from my side LOL* But yeah think positive! People are actually learning some things~ (Loved the first season)

  3. Dang said: “>.> it’s a sad day when we start taking our advice from cartoon wolf girls…….”

    Realy man? Its not realy made up by Horo -_- and why would you complain about the source of good advice anyways? ‘:\


Leave a Reply

Categories

